2018 Election Results and Recap!

November 7

Dear Friends:

The 2018 election is finally over—well, almost. Although a few races remain “too close to call,” we do have results in most of our federal and state races.

Nationally, the “Blue Wave” arguably turned out to be a “splash” at best. As was expected, the Democrats regained control of the U.S. House of Representatives, but their gains were fewer than they had hoped for. Meanwhile, in the U.S. Senate, Republicans actually increased their majority by flipping seats in Florida, Indiana, Missouri, and North Dakota.

Locally, however, it was a “Blue Wave” for Democrats in New Mexico. In addition to wining the Governor’s office, Democrats swept all statewide offices and increased their majority in the state House of Representatives. At the federal level, incumbent U.S. Senator Martin Heinrich was reelected to a second term; Deb Haaland was elected to serve in the 1st Congressional District; and incumbent Congressman Ben Ray Lujan was reelected in the 3rd Congressional District.

On the Republican side, victories were few. However, in the 2nd Congressional District, our endorsed candidate, Yvette Herrell, won a tight, extremely contested race to keep the seat in the Republican column.

As for the rest of our Family Policy Alliance of New Mexico endorsed candidates, we were pleased to see State Representatives Rod Montoya, James Strickler, Rebecca Dow, Cathrynn Brown, Greg Nibert, and David Gallegos all reelected to serve in the state House. At the same time, races in state House Districts 22, 53, and 63, featuring endorsed candidates, Representative Gregg Schmedes, Martin Zamora, and Representative Rick Little, were too close to call as of midnight.

 I want to thank all our endorsed candidates, including Congressman Steve Pearce, Janice Arnold-Jones, Michael Hendricks, Ray Gallegos, Brenda Boatman, Representative David Adkins, John Jones, David Tofsted, and Lisa Shin for your willingness to run and serve in public office. Although this election did not go our way, I hope you will all remain involved and consider running for public office again.

As for Family Policy Alliance of New Mexico—where do we go from here? Well, now our work as a public policy organization really begins! We know the political climate is against us and we know the challenges ahead are real. However, with your continued prayers and support, and the good Lord’s blessing, we will continue our work to defend the unborn, strengthen the family, and preserve religious freedom.

Friends—our hope has never been rooted in any single election and, quite frankly, the results of this election demonstrate why an organization like ours is needed in New Mexico. The election is over, but we are just getting started!

God bless!

Vince Torres
President and Executive Director



U.S. Senate
*Martin Heinrich (D) (Winner)
Mick Rich (R)
Gary Johnson (L)

 U.S. House (District 1)
Debra Haaland (D) (Winner)
Janice Arnold-Jones (R)
Lloyd Princeton (L)

 U.S. House (District 2)
Xochitl Torres-Small (D)
Yvette Herrell (R) (Winner)

 U.S. House (District 3)
*Ben Ray Lujan (D) (Winner)
Steve McFall (R)
Christopher Manning (L)

Governor & Lt. Governor
Michelle Lujan-Grisham/Howie Morales (D) (Winner)
Steve Pearce/Michelle Garcia-Holmes (R)

 Secretary of State
*Maggie Tolouse-Oliver (D) (Winner)
Gavin Clarkson (R)

 Attorney General
*Hector Balderas (D) (Winner)
Michael Hendricks (R)
A. Blair Dunn (L)

Brian Colon (D) (Winner)
*Wayne Johnson (R)

*Tim Eichenberg (D) (Winner)
Arthur Castillo (R)

Commissioner of Public Lands
Stephanie Garcia-Richard (D) (Winner)
Patrick Lyons (R)
Michael Lucero (L)

 Key House of Representative Races
District 17 – Bernalillo
*Deborah Armstrong (D) (Winner)
Ray Gallegos (R)

 District 22 – Bernalillo, Sandoval & Santa Fe
Jessica Velasquez (D) (Too close to call)
*Gregg Schmedes (R)

District 23 – Bernalillo & Sandoval
*Damon Ely (D) (Winner)
Brenda Boatman (R)

District 29 – Bernalillo
Joy Garratt (D) (Winner)
*David Adkins (R)

 District 30 – Bernalillo
Natalie Figueroa (D) (Winner)
John Jones (R)

 District 36 – Doña Ana
*Nathan Small (D) (Winner)
David Tofsted (R)

District 38 – Grant, Hidalgo & Sierra
Karen Whitlock (D)
*Rebecca Dow (R) (Winner)

District 43 – Los Alamos, Rio Arriba, Sandoval & Santa Fe
Christine Chandler (D) (Winner)
Lisa Shin (R)

District 53 – Doña Ana & Otero
Willie Madrid (D) (Too close to call)
*Rick Little (R)

District 59 – Chaves & Lincoln
*Greg Nibert (R) (Winner)
Carl Swinney (L)

District 63 – Curry, De Baca, Guadalupe, Roosevelt & San Miguel
*George Dodge, Jr. (D) (Too close to call
Martin Zamora (R)


PS. Family Policy Alliance invests heavily in New Mexico—for the 2018 election, but also year round. This is because we believe in New Mexico, and we are committed to restoring a nation where God is honored, religious freedom flourishes, families thrive, and life is cherished. That vision starts in the states—it starts in New Mexico. We are honored to put our full support behind Family Policy Alliance of New Mexico because we know that is what it takes to achieve a big vision—it takes leaders on the ground who live and work in New Mexico, partnering with pastors and churches, Christian business leaders, pro-family elected leaders, families, and you.

While elections are important, we are committed to seeing God’s people “stand firm and take action” (Daniel 11:32) in New Mexico every day—not just for any single election. May God bless you and your family, and know that we are a movement of states working together nationally, standing with and supporting you in New Mexico.

Standing with you,
Paul Weber's Signature
Paul Weber, President & CEO
Family Policy Alliance