FamilyPrint

Another Johnson County City Faces Threat to Religious Freedom

Last week, the city council of Mission considered an ordinance that would punish people for their ideas and beliefs. The ordinance is known as a SOGI law because it offers special protections for “sexual orientation and gender identity” classes. Do you remember Jack Phillips? He is the Colorado baker who recently won a Supreme Court case, after being prosecuted under a SOGI law for declining to bake a cake celebrating a same-sex wedding.

Now, the same threat has emerged in Prairie Village.

What happens in one city doesn’t stay there. While you may not live in Mission or Prairie Village, this is a battle that deserves your attention. If a SOGI ordinance hasn’t come to you already, it will.

On Monday night, October 15th, the Prairie Village City Council will hold a hearing on their proposed SOGI ordinance. We need to make it clear to the City Council that there is no evidence of the need for this ordinance. Passing the ordinance as a symbol of support for the LGBTQ community will send a clear message, “People of faith are not welcome in Prairie Village.”

Here are three ways that you can make a difference:

  1. Speak up!  You can send an email to the mayor and all 12 council members in just moments on our Action Center. Here are their names and numbers if you’d like to call:

Prairie Village City Council Members
Mayor Laura Wassmer           (913) 385-4600           mayor@pvkansas.com
Ward 1: Chad Herring             (913) 383-8752           cherring@pvkansas.com
Ward 1: Jori Nelson                (913) 522-7497           jnelson@pvkansas.com
Ward 2: Ron Nelson                (913) 602-9003           rnelson@pvkansas.com
Ward 2: Serena Schermoly     (913) 7779597            sschermoly@pvkansas.com
Ward 3: Tucker Poling            (913) 760-0686           tpoling@pvkansas.com
Ward 3: Andrew Wang           (913) 671-8404           awang@pvkansas.com
Ward 4: Sheila Myers             (913) 645-8093           smyers@pvkansas.com
Ward 4: Brooke Morehead     (913) 642-4793           bmorehead@pvkansas.com
Ward 5: Courtney McFadden (913) 381-8089           cmcfadden@pvkansas.com
Ward 5: Dan Runion               (913) 648-8861           drunion@pvkansas.com
Ward 6: Terrence Gallagher   (913) 642-4163             gallagherward6@gmail.com
Ward 6: Ted Odell                   (913) 575-9068           todell@pvkansas.com

  1. Show up!  I’ll be there, but I can only do so much alone. Council members need to see and hear members of their community who are opposed to this ordinance. The Prairie Village City Council meeting begins Monday, October 15, at 6:00 p.m. at 7700 Mission Road in Prairie Village.
  2. Share this with others, especially those who live in Prairie Village.

No one should be forced to give up their faith in order to earn a living. Thank you for helping to keep the faith in Prairie Village!

Sincerely,

Eric Teetsel
President and Executive Director