Mississippi brought about the long-awaited and overdue overturning of Roe v. Wade. The state now bans nearly all abortions. Keep reading to find out more about what abortion law would be in your state after Roe.
THE BIG QUESTION
After Roe, does my state ban nearly all abortions or allow nearly all abortions?
Mississippi brought about the overturning of Roe v. Wade. The state passed a 15-week ban on abortion called the Gestational Age Act (Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-191) that was blocked from taking effect by the Fifth Circuit court of appeals through Jackson Women’s Health Organization v. Dobbs, 951 F.3d 246 (5th Cir. 2020). On June 24, 2022, the Supreme Court ruled in favor of Mississippi and declared that there is no Constitutional right to an abortion, thereby returning the issue of abortion to states for the people to regulate as they so choose. Attorney General Lynn Fitch then certified Mississippi’s trigger law to take effect and immediately ban almost all abortions now that Roe is overturned. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-45.
MORE ABOUT YOUR STATE’S ABORTION LAWS
Below, we’ve summarized what abortion laws are in your state after Roe.
Abortion Limits, Exceptions and Enforcement
Limitations on abortions
If my state won’t ban all abortions, what are the limits to abortion?
Because Mississippi has a “trigger law” banning almost all abortions that would go into effect immediately after Roe, Mississippi’s other, lesser limitations and regulations currently in their law on abortion would no longer be necessary. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-45.
Exceptions to any limitations
Are there any exceptions to those limitations placed on abortion?
The 15-week ban includes exceptions for a medical emergency or the presence of a severe fetal abnormality. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-191.
The trigger law includes exceptions for when the abortion is necessary to save the mother’s life and in the case of rape, but a charge of rape must be filed with an appropriate law enforcement official. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-45.
Penalties for performing an illegal abortion
What are the penalties to abortion providers for committing an illegal abortion (one of the forms of abortion that my state has limited under the law)?
Violations of the 15-week ban by a physician are considered unprofessional conduct and their license to practice medicine will be subject to suspension or revocation. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-191(6).
Violations of the heartbeat statute are a misdemeanor punishable by $1,000 in fines and/or 6 months in prison. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-39.
Violations of the trigger law are punishable by one to ten years in prison. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-45.
When abortion laws are violated, who can file a lawsuit to enforce their rights and the law?
The trigger law is a criminal statute and can be enforced against violating physicians by citizens through law enforcement. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-39.
The Mississippi Department of Health can impose civil penalties on physicians who violate the reporting requirements of the 15-week ban. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-191(7).
Protecting Fundamental Rights
Does my state give parents the right to consent for their child to get an abortion?
Yes, consent is required from both parents or the minor’s legal guardian; however, this state has a method where a minor can obtain permission from the courts to receive an abortion without parental notice or consent. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-53. The trigger law has made these provisions mostly unnecessary.
Does my state have conscience protections for medical professionals who do not want to participate in abortions?
Safety & Health of Women
Does an abortion have to be provided by a licensed physician in my state?
Does my state’s law require that a woman give informed consent and/or receive counseling prior to allowing an abortion to be performed?
Yes: A mother must receive counseling about the medical risks associated with the abortion and with carrying the baby to term; however,the trigger law has made this provision mostly unnecessary. Miss. Code Ann. § 41-41-33(1).
MAKING A MORE PROLIFE MISSISSIPPI
Your state does not (yet!) have a state family policy council working on the issue of life at your state’s capitol. But the need to fight for life in your state is critical!
If you’re interested in helping start a state family policy council in Mississippi, please contact us at: Mail@familypolicyalliance.com.
And, be sure to check out the good prolife work being done by our national allies as well and find a way to plug into the #AfterRoe movement!