In North Carolina
After Roe, abortion will still be allowed in many situations. Hear from North Carolina Family Policy Council about what’s at stake, and how you can be part of the fight for life. Then, keep reading to find out more about what abortion law would be in your state after Roe.
After Roe, states will have an even greater responsibility to protect life. Partner with your state’s family policy council to ensure that your state is pro-life, from conception all the way to natural death!Connect with North Carolina Family Policy Council
MORE ABOUT YOUR STATE’S ABORTION LAWS
Below, we’ve summarized what abortion laws would be in your state after Roe.
The Big Question
After Roe, will my state ban nearly all abortions or allow nearly all abortions?
North Carolina will still allow abortions in many situations after Roe is overturned. Read more about North Carolina’s legal restrictions on abortion below.
Abortion Limits, Exceptions and Enforcement
Limitations on abortions
If my state won’t ban all abortions, what are the limits to abortion?
North Carolina bans abortion after 20 weeks. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-45.1(b).
North Carolina has a ban on sex-selective abortion. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 90-21.121, S.B.353, Reg. Sess. (N.C. 2013).
Exceptions to any limitations
Penalties for performing an illegal abortion
What are the penalties to abortion providers for committing an illegal abortion (one of the forms of abortion that my state has limited under the law)?
Violations of the 20-week ban are a class H felony. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-44.
When abortion laws are violated, who can file a lawsuit to enforce their rights and the law?
A mother, spouse or guardian of a mother, or parent of a minor mother may bring an action for damages for a violation of the ban on sex-selective abortion. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 90-21.122, S.B.353, Reg. Sess. (N.C. 2013).
Special standards of care
Does my state impose a special medical standard of care on abortion providers?
Protecting Fundamental Rights
Does my state give parents the right to consent for their child to get an abortion?
Yes. Written consent from one parent or a grandparent the mother has been living with for six months is required; however, this state has a method where a minor can obtain permission from the courts to receive an abortion without parental notice or consent. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 90-21.7.
Does my state have conscience protections for medical professionals who do not want to participate in abortions?
Yes: Physicians, nurses, and healthcare providers may refuse to participate in abortions on moral, religious, or ethical grounds. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 14-45.1(e).
Babies Born Alive
Are there legal protections for babies born alive following a botched abortion in my state?
Safety & Health of Women
Does an abortion have to be provided by a licensed physician in my state?
Yes. Physician must be licensed to practice medicine in the state, possesses or is eligible to possess board certification in obstetrics or gynecology, or possesses sufficient training based on established medical standards in safe abortion care, abortion complications, and miscarriage management. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. §§ 14-45.1(a) – (b).
Does my state’s law require that a woman give informed consent and/or receive counseling prior to allowing an abortion to be performed?
Yes: Counseling is required 72 hours before abortion procedure. N.C. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 90-21.82.